Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Dr Jane Walker, Senior Clinical Researcher and Consultant Psychiatrist, has been shortlisted for 'Psychiatric Academic Researcher' of the Year 2015 by the Royal College of Psychiatrists. The annual RCPsych Awards mark the highest level of achievement within psychiatry, and are designed to recognise and reward excellent practice in the field of mental health.

Dr Walker's research with CLAHRC Oxford focuses on patients who have both physical and mental health problems, so-called 'medical-psychiatric multimorbidity'.

Through this research Dr Walker works to improve the quality of life for people with chronic and life-limiting diseases, developing and evaluating new treatments for patients with depression and anxiety.

As a member of the Oxford CLAHRC, I am delighted to be shortlisted for this prestigious award. - Dr Jane Walker

Dr Walker is a Senior Clinical Researcher based at Oxford University's Department of Psychiatry, and a Consultant Psychiatrist at Sir Michael Sobell House Hospice, which provides specialist palliative care across Oxfordshire for adults with advanced, progressive illnesses.

The winners will be announced at the RCPsych Awards Ceremony, to be held at the Royal College of Psychiatrists' headquarters in London on 10th November 2015. 

Previous winners of RCPsych awards include CLAHRC Oxford Theme 4 lead Professor Michael Sharpe, who won Psychiatrist of the year in 2014.

Sign-up for our newsletter

Keep up-to-date with the latest news, events and publications. 

Similar stories

Online shopping interventions may help customers buy healthier foods

Altering the default order in which foods are shown on the screen, or offering substitutes lower in saturated fat could help customers make healthier choices when shopping for food online, new research from CLAHRC Oxford supported researchers finds.

Low calorie meal replacements are a cost-effective routine treatment for obesity in the NHS

NIHR CLAHRC Oxford supported Researchers: Replacing all regular meals with a low calorie diet of soups, shakes and bars, together with behavioural support, is cost-effective as a routine treatment for obesity

Only “modest” improvement in heart failure survival rates since 2000

Research led by Dr Clare Taylor and CLAHRC Oxford Director Professor Richard Hobbs finds that survival after a diagnosis of heart failure in the United Kingdom has shown only modest improvement in the 21st century and lags behind other serious conditions, such as cancer, in a large study published by The BMJ today.

New Year's Honours 2019

Professor Richard Hobbs, Director of the NIHR CLAHRC Oxford, is appointed CBE for services to medical research, and receives the RCGP Discovery Prize.

CLAHRC-supported DROPLET study informs NHS action to tackle obesity and type 2 diabetes

Hundreds of thousands of people will receive help to battle obesity and Type 2 diabetes under radical new NHS plans to trial very low calorie diets for the first time.

Trio of wins for ‘better management of medical-psychiatric multimorbidity’ theme researchers and clinicians.

November was a busy and successful month for members of our ‘better management of medical psychiatric multimorbidity theme’, with both individual researchers and teams winning awards, and the opening of a new psychological medicine service teaching and research centre.